The Cannock & District Chess League

 Welcome to the Cannock & District Chess League website

The league was set up on April 14th 1999 to "... promote the game of chess within its area and to organise league matches and competitions between the participating clubs. The prime aim of the CDCL will be to bring an awareness of chess to the younger generations ...".

The normal CDCL season runs from September to April, but in 2021 we are playing from October until Christmas with each team competing in 4 or 6 games depending upon the number of entrants across 3 divisions. We will then look to run a 2022 season from January until April before reverting back to our normal season length in 2022-2023.

The Autumn 2021 league set up can be seen in the League Rules section of this site.

Divisions are assembled to allow a good mixture of rated players to play in each team, with their combined team rating within the set limit for each division. Therefore, each game should be very competitive with two similar strength teams playing one another. There is no promotion/relegation in the league.

The Chase Trophy is our club knockout competition.

Individual competitions are also held - these are called the Robert Ward Trophy, Robert Ward Plate & Dolan Trophy

You can also find all of the up to date information about fixtures, results, league tables etc on the English Chess Federation League Management System website which is: scroll down to the Cannock & District Chess League.

Recent League Honours

                    Division 1 winners:

2019-2020  Sutton Coldfield

2018-2019  Sutton Coldfield

2017-2018  Sutton Coldfield

2016-2017   Sutton Coldfield 

2015-2016   Sutton Coldfield 

2014-2015   Sutton Coldfield 

2013-2014   South Birmingham 


                   Chase Trophy winners:

2019-2020  Tamworth & Sutton C 

2018-2019  Wolverhampton

2017-2018  Brewood

2016-2017  Sutton Coldfield 

2015-2016  Tamworth 

2014-2015   Lichfield 

2013-2014   Cannock 


                   Dolan Trophy winners:

2019-2020 Stephen Smithson

2018-2019  Richard Bailey 


                   Division 4 winners:

2016-2017 Boldmere St Michael's 

    Division 2 winners:

    Oscott & Rugeley 



    Sutton Coldfield


    Sutton Coldfield



    Robert Ward Trophy winners:  

    David Gardiner & Nigel Byrne

    David Gardiner 

    Peter Oliver 

    Mike Hoare

    Rich Wiltshir                    

    Mike Hoare

    Dave Wightman 

Division 3 winners:


Norton Canes 

Norton Canes



Lichfield B



Robert Ward Plate winners: 

Richard Bailey

Nigel Byrne 

Kevin Spillane 

Jet Ajimal 

Sandy Wilson 

Andrew Smith 

John Fenby