The Cannock & District Chess League


14.9.21 EGM

We had a healthy attendance at the EGM where several matters were agreed upon. For the 2019-2020 season each attending club was given a vote & Division 3 Champions were Rugeley, while Oscott & Rugeley shared the Division 2 Title. The set up of the Autumn 2021 season was agreed as proposed & games will start shortly across all 3 Divisions, with 11 clubs & 19 teams competing.


30.8.21 EGM details 

The EGM has been booked in the small bar in the Bridgtown Social Club on Tuesday 14.9.21 at 7.30pm. It will be followed by a Fixtures Meeting immediately afterwards for our Autumn 2021 season. I'm pleased to confirm that we have at least 5 team entries in each of our 3 Divisions so we hope to have a very competitive season across the league.


24.8.21 Proposed League structure in Autumn 2021

Due to several requests from member clubs we intend to add an extra higher rated Division in Autumn 2021. Our previous proposals were for 2 Divisions with 6500 ECF & 5800 ECF limits, but now we'll also have a 7200 ECF limit Division as well - all subject to approval at our EGM on 14.9.21. We have asked for entries for all 3 Divisions to be emailed to the Records Secretary by the end of August. Thank you to those clubs who have already confirmed their intensions.

Details of the EGM will be shared with everyone shortly.


13.8.21  Update from 2019-2020 season

ROBERT WARD TROPHY – FINAL – David Gardiner v Nigel Byrne

Sadly, Nigel passed away in September 2020. David has kindly agreed that both players will be declared as joint winners in tribute to Nigel.

ROBERT WARD PLATE - FINAL – Paul Barrett v Richard Bailey (arranged for 22.9.21)

DOLAN TROPHY - FINAL – Kieran Mills v Stephen Smithson (arranged for 20.10.21)


As some clubs are unable to reopen we cannot complete Divisions 2 & 3. A decision will be made on how to recognise this in our EGM in September - details to follow. 

Players were asked if they wished to complete their games in the Robert Ward Plate & Dolan Trophy before the end of 2021.

Sutton Coldfield & Tamworth qualified for the Chase Trophy Final & have agreed to share the Trophy.